It is hard to gain perspective on any one scene anymore. Times are moving too fast. A week ago, I put up a list of songs of 2010. As soon as I published it I realised I was missing out on plenty. The next day, Rubberbandits’ ‘Horse Outside’ went up on Youtube.

And what about having your say? It is all well and good to vote on the Choice Music Prize, but they didn’t even have Patrick Kelleher on the shortlist!

This is where the inaugural Digital Socket Awards come in. It gives a voice to everyone in Ireland who wants to tell someone about their favourite band. There are 14 categories including best video, best pop album, best folk album, best ep, and much more.

So you vote for your favourites and everything that is nominated gets put into the longlist. Then, 26 Irish bloggers will pore over each and every one of them and come up with a shortlist. The Digital Socket Awards offer a collective take on Irish music in 2010. In a year that many are saying is the best and most diverse of Irish music ever, these awards will wade through everything before coming up with some answers.

The Digital Socket Awards (DSAs) are the brainchild of Ronan Hunt-Murphy (Swear I’m Not Paul) and Peter Nagle (2UIBestow), aiming to highlight the best Irish music of 2010 through the medium of blogging. The name reflects the power and energy of digital music on the Internet. Extended to 25 judges and 14 categories, the awards are the first of their kind in Ireland, inviting the public to nominate and the bloggers to decide the very best music of 2010.

Run in conjunction with Dublin’s new Grand Social venue, the winners will be announced at a live event on February 3, 2011. A limited number of tickets will go on sale at €10 for the live event at the Grand Social with entertainment provided by three bands and very special guests.

You can vote for everything here.But be quick, voting closes on December 22. Here is a list of albums released in 2010 and you can listen to them all over at the aforementioned Swear I’m Not Paul.