Conor Oberst has made some of the best music of the past decade and returns in February with a new album, The People’s Keys. And below is the first taster of what fans might expect.

‘Shell Games’ is more piano driven than a lot of his previous stuff, not that that is a bad thing. You still have those lyrics which just sound so personal, the reason why Conor got so big in the first place: because it felt like he was singing just for you.

“Here it comes the heavy love,” he sings, “I’m never gonna move you along.” In it for the long haul is Conor. I have been listening to it all day so it must be doing something good. You can listen to it below, and download it via the widget underneath. Bright Eyes will feature more on the blog in the new year. I promise.

Bright Eyes – ‘Shell Games’

The People’s Key tracklisting:
1 Firewall
2 Shell Games
3 Jejune Stars
4 Approximate Sunlight
5 Haile Selassie
6 A Machine Spiritual (In The People’s Key)
7 Triple Spiral
8 Beginner’s Mind
9 Ladder Song
10 One For You, One For Me