Last night at the Grand Social in Dublin, a bunch of Irish music bloggers got together to celebrate the best of 2010. Grrom and Melijoann and special guests Ham Sandwich performed on the night, which I assume was a great success. Despite being one of the 26 judges involved in voting I wasn’t able to make it up to Dublin for what sounded like a wonderful night. I am sure the bloggers around the country will (after recovering) have plenty of photos, videos and gossip to share on their own sites. Below you will find a list of all the winners of the 14 categories. Underneath that handy copy and paste list is a chance to listen, watch and link to each of the winners. Swear I’m Not Paul already gave you the chance to listen to all the nominees, but I have just put up, via We7, Soundcloud, Bandcamp and Youtube, all the albums, videos, EPs and more that triumphed on the night. If nothing else, the DSAs showed that Irish music deserved your time. Irish music doesn’t get the chance to shine on the radio anywhere near as much as it should. Hopefully you do not think that this is bloggers patting themselves on the back. The music and photography and everything else deserves a little bit of your time. Despite the recession and despite the mundanity of the General Election, Ireland has a thriving arts community. The Digital Socket Awards are just one such example.

Here are the winners in each category, and after the jump is your chance to sample them all. Adebisi Shank won three gongs, Cast Of Cheers and Villagers both won two, while And So I Watch You From Afar, Solar Bears and Ambience Affair also picked up awards. For more (probably later on today) head to the Digital Socket Awards site, and if nothing else, click on all the blogs involved on the left.

1 Best Design (Website, Artwork, Posters): Adebisi Shank – This is the Second Album of a Band Called….
2 Best Independent Label: Richter Collective
3 Best Video: Ambience Affair – ‘Devil In the Detail’
4 Best Music Photography: Loreana Rushe
5 Best Radio Show: Donal Dineen
6 Best Pop: Cathy Davey – The Nameless
7 Best Folk: Villagers – Becoming A Jackal
8 Best Rock and Alternative: Adebisi Shank – This is the Second Album of a Band Called….
9 Best Electronic & Hip Hop: Solar Bears – She Was Coloured In
10 Best Indie: The Cast of Cheers – Chariot
11 Best EP: And So I Watch You From Afar – The Letters EP
12 Best Newcomer: The Cast of Cheers
13 Song of the Year: Villagers – ‘The Meaning of the Ritual’
14 Album of the Year: Adebisi Shank – This is the Second Album of a Band Called….
15 Outstanding Contribution to Music (RTE): Cast Of Cheers


1 Best Design (Website, Artwork, Posters) – Adebisi Shank
2 Best Independent Label – Richter Collective
3 Best Video – Ambience Affair

4 Best Music Photography – Loreana Rushe
5 Best Radio Show – Donal Dineen

6 Best Pop – Cathy Davey

7 Best Folk – Villagers

8 Best Rock and Alternative – Adebisi Shank

Adebisi Shank – This is the second album of a band called Adebisi Shank [RIC018] by Richter Collective

9 Best Electronic & Hip Hop – Solar Bears

10 Best Indie – The Cast of Cheers

11 Best EP – And So I Watch You From Afar – ‘The Letters EP’

And So I Watch You From Afar – ‘S Is For Salamander’

And So I Watch You From Afar – ‘D Is For Django the Bastard’

And So I Watch You From Afar – ‘B Is For B Side’

And So I Watch You From Afar – ‘K Is For Killing Spree’

12 Best Newcomer – The Cast of Cheers (See above)

13 Song of the Year – Villagers – The Meaning of the Ritual

14 Album of the Year – Adebisi Shank (See above)