And so continues the trepidation that awaits the first full listen to Arctic Monkeys fourth full-length album due out next month. I have already talked about ‘Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair’, which sadly sounds dated after more than ten or so listens, and ‘Brick By Brick’, the worst thing the band have recorded. From the so-minimal-it’s-uncool album artwork above, to the fuck-it-and-see attitude they seem to have regarding the new album, it’s really difficult to get excited about Suck It And See. It certainly doesn’t help that ‘Reckless Serenade’, the third song we have heard from the album, continues the vein of mid-tempo ‘meh’ that has overcome me with the promo campaign. Another song about a girl and another song where the lyrics come across like they were written in ten minutes – not a good thing. “I’ve been trying to figure out exactly what it is I need,” Alex Turner sings on ‘Reckless Serenade’. Sadly Alex, so have I.

Arctic Monkeys – ‘Reckless Serenade’

Suck It And See tracklisting:
1. ‘She’s Thunderstorms’
2. ‘Black Treacle’
3. ‘Brick By Brick’
4. ‘The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala’
5. ‘Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair’
6. ‘Library Pictures’
7. ‘All My Own Stunts’
8. ‘Reckless Serenade’
9. ‘Piledriver Waltz’
10. ‘Love Is A Laserquest’
11. ‘Suck It And See’
12. ‘That’s Where You’re Wrong’

Hopefully there will be some good songs out of those 12. Not gonna hold my breath though – but that’s mainly because the album isn’t out for a month…