After the free download of ‘Hands Of Fire’ and ‘Lying On A Deathbed’, which won acclaim from all corners of Ireland – from those on the internet and who listen to good music anyway – we get a taster of Jape’s third album Ocean Of Frequency. It’s out at the end of September, is 12 songs long and the artwork is above. ‘The Oldest Mind’ is the third track on the album and sounds like it was recorded underwater. If you caught Jape at any gig or festival over the summer – or if you are planning to catch him Electric Picnic at the weekend – you might well recognise this song. Although live, it takes on an almost revelatory feel, completely different to this recorded version. How could it not with a chorus of “Celebrate what it is to be young.” You can stream it below. It premiered on Sunday at the German blog No Fear Of Pop.

Jape – ‘The Oldest Mind’

Ocean Of Frequency tracklisting after the jump.

1 ‘An Hallucination’
2 ‘Please Don’t Turn The Record Off’
3 ‘The Oldest Mind’
4 ‘Too Many People’
5 ‘One Of Those Days That Just Feels So Long’
6 ‘Borrowed Time With Peace’
7 ‘Scorpio’
8 ‘You Make The Love’ (the first single, due out at the end of September)
9 ‘Internal Machine’
10 ‘Its Shadow Won’t Make Noise’
11 ‘Na Niotancullah’
12 ‘Ocean Of Frequency’