I’ve only caught Jennifer Evans live about three times in as many years, including with Halves in 2011. But it was enough to make me really excited to hear more from her back in, er, January 2013. Now, 18 months later, we finally have new music from Evans and details of a debut album. She channels Anna Calvi on ‘Colours of Bruises’, a jazz-tinged track that sees Evans hitting new vocal highs while growling and purring the rest of the way, all the while showcasing her guitar virtuosity. There’s a lot to wrap your head around in five minutes. ‘Colours of Bruises’ is taken from the debut album Works From The Dip & Foul; the single is out October 10, and the album is released on the Delphi Label on November 14. There are more details about the album after the jump.

From the press release: The album was recorded in Dublin by Stephen Shannon (aka Strands) and produced by Stephen and Jennifer. As well as nine songs written by Jennifer, the album includes ‘Your Cause’, a song written by Jennifer’s good friend and fellow Irish artist Rhob Cunningham, and a cover version of Massive Attack’s ‘Unfinished Sympathy’. Jennifer will launch her album with her full band at Whelans on November 21. Ahead of that Jennifer will play solo live dates in October supporting We Cut Corners on their forthcoming tour:

Roisin Dubh, Galway – Thursday, October 2;
Kasbah Social Club, Limerick – Friday, October 10;
Set Theatre Kilkenny – Saturday, October 11;
The Academy, Dublin – Thursday, October 16;
Whelans, Dublin – Friday, November 21, album launch with full band.

Works From The Dip & Foul< tracklisting:

1. ‘Uncomfortable Word’
2. ‘Colours of Bruises’
3. ‘My Own Assassin’
4. ‘Promises, Promises’
5. ‘Sure Fire’
6. ‘After Berlin’
7. ‘Your Cause’
8. ‘Empire’
9. ‘Umemaro Babes’
10. ‘Chilly’
11. ‘Unfinished Sympathy’