We got our first taster a couple months ago of Altered Hours‘ debut album, In Heat Not Sorry, with the thrilling ‘Way Of Sorrow‘. The Cork five piece had latest track ‘Silver Leather’, a pulsating, intense five-minute listen, premiered on the Fader earlier this week. Lead singer Cathal Mac Gabhainn described how the title came from staring at Iggy Pop’s Raw Power for too long: “Iggy is wearing silver leather pants and I felt like this resonated with this track; the song stands for a general disgust and rebellion against modern life and harks back to an ancient form of rock and roll.” Over a big bassline, Altered Hours have created a swirling, unsettling atmosphere. “We were young then we were brave, we had nothing but our children to save,” Cathal intones, later switching the line, worryingly, to: “We were young then we were brave, we had nothing but our bones to break.” ‘Silver Leather’, already a live favourite, is a thoroughly engaging and layered piece of psychrock that brings your into its world and doesn’t let you see the exit signs. In Heat Not Sorry is out via Art For Blind Records & Penske Recordings on January 29. Altered Hours’ lengthy tour dates are after the jump.

Altered Hours’ tour dates:
Sat 19th Dec – Connolly’s of Leap, Co. Cork (IE)
Fri 12th Feb – Regional Cultural Centre, Letterkenny (IE)
Fri 19th Feb – Kasbah Social Club, Limerick (IE)
Sat 20th Feb – The Workman’s Club, Dublin (IE)
Thurs 25th Feb – Roisin Dubh, Galway (IE)
Fri 26th Feb – The Black Box, Belfast (IE)
Sat 27th Feb – Brewery Corner, Kilkenny (IE)
Tues 8th Mar – Café Video, Ghent (BE)
Wed 9th Mar – Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff (UK)
Thurs 10th Mar – MONO, Falmouth (UK)
Fri 11th Mar – The Audacious Art Experiment, Sheffield (UK)
Sat 12 Mar – Cosmosis Festival, Manchester (UK)
Sun 13th Mar – The Hug and Pint, Glasgow (UK)
Mon 14th Mar – The Musician, Leicester (UK)
Tues 15th Mar – Start The Bus, Bristol (UK)
Wed 16th Mar – The Shacklewell Arms, London (UK)
Thurs 17th Mar – Le Biplan, Lille (FR)
Fri 18th Mar – Espace B, Paris (FR)
Tues 22nd Mar – Circolo Arci Zone K, Ferrara (IT)
Thurs 24th Mar – Ex Dogana, Roma (IT)
Fri 25th Mar – PnBox, Pordernone (IT)